JDPC & Politics Commission

The Commission shall strive to:
i. Awaken God’s people to the full understanding of their part and duty in the fields of development, justice, charity, peace, human rights and advancement, prisoners, and victims’ welfare, urban, rural development etc.

ii. Enhance the dignity, worth and self-determination of all in order that people can have a full life and recognize themselves and others as children of God through championing the cause of the oppressed, promoting human rights and obligations and the civil liberties of people generally.

iii. Challenge structures and situations that deprive people of freedom, hope and a worthwhile future by initiating educational programmes and affirmative action “which lead to self-reliance” and a “preferential option for the poor”

iv. Initiate programmes and projects which help the training, transformation and orientation of people especially through the spread of the social teachings of the Church as has been urged by the various Social Encyclicals and the Church’s Magisteria.

v. Foster local and international co-operation on matters affecting justice, development, peace, conflict resolution, the promotion of dialogue, among others via meetings, symposia, lectures and workshops at various levels of participation.

vi. Foster healthy relationship between Church and State through prudent preaching and education geared towards promoting and upholding the political freedom of the citizenry.

vii. Create political awareness through seminars and symposia, and encourage Christians to participate actively and becomingly in politics.

viii. Keep the Bishop abreast of political situations at every given time.

ix. Undertakes any other assignment that the Bishop may entrust to it.

S/No. Name Portfolio
1 Fr. Dr. Donatus Onuigbo Chairperson
2 Fr. Dr. Benneth Ugwu Member
3 Fr. Cornelius Uwakwe Member
4 Chief C. A. Echukwu Member
5 Miss Chioma Ononyaba Member
6 Chief Geoffrey AmaluChigbo Member
7 Lolo Veronica Ude Member
8 Justice J. Aneke Member
9 Mrs. Angela Ojekagu Member
10 Arc. Norbert D. Ejike Okoye Member
11 Barr. Ezinwa Paul Ogugua Member
12 Kelvin Eze Member
13 Patrick Ani Member
14 Ifechukwuneme Ani Member
15 Everistus Odo Member
16 Barr. Emmanuel Ome Member
17 Barr. Sam Nwizu Member
18 Amb. John Umeh Member